Black Market Baby

"Coulda...Shoulda...Woulda: TheBlack Market Baby Collection"

BLACK MARKET BABY is one of Washington D.C.’s finest from the early 80’s: BLACK MARKET BABY. Tom Lyle of Government Issue has done the mastering and John Stabb (Government Issue) with the liner notes. This is a great 26 song discography with unreleased stuff and never before seen photo's! Many songs produced by Ian MacKaye and recorded at the legendary Inner Ear studios by Don Zientarra.

This is for fans of the early D.C. scene: Minor Threat, Artificial Peace, Iron Cross, Government Issue (old Dischord style stuff). You WILL love it!

Here are a couple remarks from Henry Rollins and Ian MacKaye~
“Black Market were a great band and enormously important to many of us in
the early D.C. scence” –Ian MacKaye“

I had forgotten how damn good Black Market Baby was. I used to see them play all the time in D.C. and they were always great. This cd really proves it. This is what reissues and labels like Dr. Strange are all about. Nice one!” –Henry Rollins

And “All Music Guide” has this to say

One of the few D.C.-area hardcore bands with no ties to the Dischord label, Black Market Baby nonetheless came to be looked upon as an influence on many of the local bands who followed. Enamored of the populist shout-along anthems of Sham 69 (unlike most of their peers, save for Iron Cross), the group also drew from British (the Damned, the Ruts) and American punk (Stooges, Dead Boys, Ramones) alike. Black Market Baby grew out of a previous band called the Snitch, which featured lead vocalist Boyd Farrell and bassist Paul Cleary. Adding guitarist Keith Campbell and drummer Tommy Carr, Black Market Baby played its first live show in the summer of 1980, and issued a split 7" with Bad Brains the following year. Their proper debut single, the classic "Potential Suicide" b/w "Youth Crimes," arrived on Limp Records in 1982, the same year that founding member Cleary departed in favor of Mike Dolfi. 1983 brought the group's debut album Senseless Offerings, released on the Fountain of Youth label, as well as another lineup shift when guitarist Campbell was replaced by Scott Logan, once Carr's bandmate in the Penetrators.Work on a second LP began, with Ian MacKaye in the producer's chair, but it was never completed, owing in part to Farrell's new family obligations. Farrell reconvened the band in 1986, with Campbell back in the fold alongside Carr and new bassist Mike Donegan; however, all this lineup managed to release was a single, "Drunk and Disorderly" b/w"Just like all the others."
~ Steve Huey, All Music Guide

Track Listing:

1 Youth Crimes
2 Potential Suicide
3 America's Youth
4 World At War
5 Downward Christian Soldiers
6 White Boy Funeral
7 Senseless Offerings
8 Strike First
9 Killing Time
10 This Year's Prphet
11 Gunpoint Affection
12 Three Bullets
13 Drunk And Disorderly
14 Just Like All The Others
15 Back Seat Sally
16 Parasite
17 Bloodstreet Boys
18 Which One Am I?
19 Sixteen Forever
20 Joe Nobody
21 Cheap Fun
22 Creature Feature
23 Lip Service
24 It's Too Late
25 Drunken Bull
26 Nobody Wanted Us

Check out the official band web site! Black Market Baby